History Files


Post-Roman Britain

The British Kingdoms of Armorica AD 500-700

by Peter Kessler, 1 April 1999



The Kingdom of Vannetais was formed of the area that makes up modern Brittany. It was created during the late fourth and all of the fifth century up until 491, this "Second Britain" covered Gaul north of the Loire up to Blois. But, once the Franks had conquered that town, the traditional borders of Brittany were very quickly established and stayed much the same until Breton independence was finally lost, by marriage into the French crown in 1532.

After Conan Meriadog's rule, his descendants split Vannetais between their sons, so that it became a patchwork of minor principalities, or sub-kingdoms, under the overall rule of the Kings of Brittany. The name of Vannetais continued to be used by what became the Kingdom of Bro Erech until it was renamed in honour of Waroch in the sixth century. The map used here, depicts the established borders of the Kingdom of Brittany, but shows, where possible, lands that were part of the greater Breton holdings before that.

(NB: The positioning of Poher on this map is roughly calculated from available evidence, and may not be entirely correct.)


To select a kingdom for further information, click anywhere within its borders.

Map of Armorica



Images and text copyright P L Kessler. An original feature for the History Files.