St James the Great, Idlicote, is nestled
amidst the heavy tree cover at the southern end of the lane which leads
off Halford Road. The church is a small building consisting of a chancel,
south chapel, nave with a north porch, and a south aisle. The original
Norman nave was constructed in the mid-1100s, while the chancel was
rebuilt in the second half of the thirteenth century, and the south
aisle was added at the end of the same century.
The west gallery was inserted in the seventeenth
century, and the south chapel was built in the latter part of the same
century as a mortuary chapel for the Underhill family of Idlicote House.
The south chapel also contains a number of memorials to the Peach
and Peach Keighley families, some of whom died in the service of the
East India Company. The plain font is medieval but is hard to date,
while the single bell is dated either to 1656 or 1636.
All photos on this page contributed by Aidan