History Files


Modern Britain

Railway Walks: Newquay to Newquay Harbour

by Peter Kessler, 1 December 2012. Updated 16 January 2017


To get the best results from the photobox tool on this page, tap on 'VIEW GALLERY' in portrait mode to start, and then switch to landscape to view the photos and text.

This 1,300 metre line between Newquay Station in Cornwall and the town's harbour was originally laid in 1849. It was part of the Treffrey Mineral Tramway between St Dennis and Newquay which ran around the then-edge of the small town using horse-drawn trams. That tramway was absorbed into the Cornwall Minerals Railway in 1873, and the first passengers were carried into Newquay in 1876, with the main station being built in 1877. The CMR was taken over by the Great Western Railway in 1896. Goods services to the small harbour declined, and the track between Newquay Station and the Whim (where Sainsbury's now stands) was closed in 1925 and lifted in 1926.




Main Sources

Conolly, W Philip - British Railways Pre-Grouping Atlas and Gazetteer, Fourth Edition, Ian Allen, London, 1965

Online Sources

Abandoned Lines and Railways

Cornish Postcards

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

Discover Newquay

Disused Stations

National Library of Scotland: Geo-Referenced Maps

Newquay Old Cornwall Society



Images and text copyright © P L Kessler except where stated. An original feature for the History Files.