Last year our first donation drive was a complete success,
thanks to some wonderful people who helped us gain a security certificate and meet
some of the increasing web hosting costs. This year, that certificate needs to be
renewed and another round of hosting costs need to be supplimented. As the History
Files is a non-profit site it still needs your help. Please click anywhere inside
this box to make a small donation via PayPal so that we can continue to provide
highly detailed historical research on a fully secure site. If every visitor
donated just a penny then we'd cover a year's running costs in a day! Your support
is highly appreciated.
Target for 2019: £0£130
Gallery: Churches of Norfolk
by Peter Kessler, 3 May 2019
North Norfolk Part 2: Churches of Bacton and Edingthorpe
Beacon Community Church, Bacton, is on the
side of Walcott Road, opposite Sea View Estate road. The Beacon is a
young church that was formed in March 2009. Its members are fortunate
in being able to use the premises of the former Bacton Particular
Baptist Church that met on the current site for many years. This
was founded in 1821 or 1822 and had a unique feature - a stained glass
window in memory of George Pilgrim who was pastor for fifty-six years.
St Andrew's Church, Bacton, sits to the north
of Church Lane, almost in a direct line from the northern end of Sandy
Lane. The present building is late fifteenth century, or thereabouts.
It replaced an older building, possibly of stone, of which one Ralph
was vicar in 1257. The church was granted to the prior of Bromholm by
William de Glanville, its founder. The four stage tower - impressive
thanks to substantial bequests - contains a ring of six bells.
All Saints, Edingthorpe is on Church Lane,
to the north of Rectory Road and the straggly hamlet of Edingthorpe
itself. It sits on a rise surrounded by open fields, with only one
or two farm buildings visible around it. The walls are flint, the
earliest parts being either late Saxon or early Norman, placing
the initial construction in the eleventh century. Masonry was added
in the twelfth century and the height of the walls was increased in
the fourteenth for new windows.
The tower is round at the base and for over half
its length - eleventh century in terms of dating - while the top
section is late medieval and is octagonal in shape. Inside the church,
on the wall, hangs the 'Paston door', the original twelfth century
north door of the church. On the north wall is a sequence of wall
paintings, probably from the late fourteenth century. The plastered
walls boast a series of medieval wall paintings, probably also from
the fourteenth century.