History Files History Files

European Kingdoms

Central Europe


Saxe-Lauenburg (Saxony)
AD 1272 - 1305

At some point after 1272, John I and Albert III divided their Saxony between them. The duchy of Saxe-Lauenburg (or Saxe-Lauenberg in some sources) was formed in the west while Saxe-Wittenberg was formed in the east. The combined duchy was the seat of one of the prince-electors of the Holy Roman empire, so there was some conflict between the two divisions as to who should retain the position. In 1314 they were on opposite sides of a double election and eventually the Saxe-Wittenbergers under Rudolf II succeed in gaining the upper hand. To distinguish Rudolf from other, now lesser, dukes of Saxony, he adopted the title 'Elector of Saxony'.

1272 - 1285

John I

Former duke of Saxony.

1285 - 1305

John II

Son. Ruled Saxe-Mölln-Bergedorf from 1305.

1296 - 1305

Albrecht III

Brother. Ruled jointly. Ruled Saxe-Ratzeburg from 1305.

1296 - 1305

Erich I

Brother. Ruled jointly. Ruled Saxe-Ratzeburg from 1305.


In 1305 the three brothers divide their territory into Saxe-Mölln-Bergedorf and Saxe-Ratzeburg.

Duchy of Saxe-Mölln-Bergedorf
AD 1305 - 1401

Saxe-Mölln-Bergedorf and Saxe-Ratzeburg were created in 1305 from a division of lands within the already-reduced duchy of Saxe-Lauenburg.

1305 - 1321

John II

Former duke of Saxe-Lauenburg.

1321 - 1343

Albrecht IV

1343 - 1356

John III

1356 - 1370

Albrecht V

1370 - 1401

Erich III


This senior Lauenburg line becomes extinct with the death of Erich, and the territory is joined with that of Saxe-Ratzeburg.